Kirkbymoorside v Seamer & Irton Cricket Club Seamer & Irton CC 2nd XI on Sat 23 Jun 2018 at 1.30pm
Seamer & Irton Cricket Club Lost by 6 wkts

Match report Captain Dazzler won the toss yet again and elected to bat on this bright sunny day. Opening the batting with Josh the pair were soon parted when Josh drove to Jon Blacklock at short cover the ball after scoring a boundary, and 7 for 1. Phil and Dazzler dug in for a big partnership following on from when the sides last met. The scoring tempo increased as both men began to find the boundary and it was 47 for 1 after 12 overs. Both their bowlers Ben Magson and Andy Bayes bowled their full 12 overs straight through, and Daz and Phil were still together on 93 for 1. Oliver Magson replaced his brother starting off with 3 wides before Daz drove him through cover for 4 to bring up the team 100. Peter Kent replaced Bayes at the pavilion end, and Daz cut him to 3rd man for a single to bring up his 50. At the end of this over, Kirkby brought on to the field their 11th man Andy Parsons. In Kent's next over, Daz clobbered 2 6's to long on, the 1st sailed into the fielder's hands but he parried it over the boundary. In Kent's 3rd over, the 30th, he finally broke the partnership worth 119 with a double wicket maiden. Phil on 43 thrust forward and was adjudged leg before by our umpire. He was not happy and showed his frustration as he walked off. 4 balls later young Liam Love could not resist the temptation and was comprehensively bowled for a duck. That was 126 for 3. Daz was then dismissed next over when he drove to Jon Blacklock at deep cover for a controlled 70 runs, and 128 for 4. Big Dave and Dallen took the score to 145 in the 37th over, before Dallen nicked a Jordan Rivis delivery into keeper James Magson's gloves for 6. Dave and Tuna were content to keep the score moving with singles until Dave hammered a 6 off Kent in the 42nd over. He was eventually stumped for 38 by James Magson off the last over bowled by Jez Underwood, and 186 for 6. DJ came in to face the last 2 deliveries, scoring a 2 and a 4 to take the final score to 192 for 6. Tuna finished with 9 singles to his name. Nobody bowled outstanding for Kirkby with Kent the only bowler to take 2 wickets.
Martin Thompson opened with James Magson for Kirkby. Beaver started well with 2 maidens from his 1st 3 overs. However, DJ was despatched for 3 boundaries by Magson in his 1st 3 overs. More boundaries followed in the 8th and 9th overs before Beaver pegged Thompson in the 10th over. DJ did likewise to Magson's stumps in the 11th and they were 26 for 2. Beaver came off after 8 overs with 1 for 13 and DJ off after 9 overs with 1 for 31. The score had moved to 47 for 2 at that point. Archie came on for the 18th over and Captain Underwood smacked him for 10 with 12 coming off the over. Young Matty came on at the pavilion end for the 19th over conceding 9 runs, but he did secure the wicket of Underwood who drove to Josh at cover for 20 runs. That was 67 for 3. Andy Bayes and Kent were in no mood to hang around and determined to take it out on our young bowlers. With 6's and boundaries pezzled into the adjoining main road, the score quickly moved in the space of 3 overs to 98 for 3. Big Dave was introduced to stem the flow in the 23rd over, but his 2 overs conceded 19 runs. At the other end, young Liam conceded 20 from his 2 overs, after which the score had quickly shifted to 139 for 3 from 26 overs. Left hander Josh was given a go but Kent hit him for 10 with the 2nd 4 bringing him his 50. DJ was brought back, but with boundaries conceded off his 1st 2 overs, the score reached 166 for 3. Next over, the 31st, Beaver was brought back and Kent was pegged for 59. The partnership with Bayes made exactly 100 runs, changing the mode of the match. Jordan Rivis entered the fray for Kirkby, and if he could continue where Kent left off, it would be a formality for their side. DJ finished his spell and Beaver bowled another maiden. Liam was given another go, and Rivis clubbed him for 3 consecutive 4's in the 36th over. That was 192 for 4. Bayes finished it off hitting Beaver for 6 next over, winning the match for them by 6 wickets. Bayes was unbeaten on 65 and Rivis unbeaten on 18. Beaver finished with 2 for 24 from 11.2 overs, the best of the bunch by a mile.
So it's back to the drawing board for Seamer. With regular 1st and 2nd team absentees stretching our availabilities to the absolute limits, it's going to be a struggle to maintain the push away from the bottom places. Our youngsters are having to share a great deal of the bowling, and are being punished for it. Today was a typical example. Our main batsmen Daz, Phil and Dave set up a good score which should have been easily defendable as was the case 2 seasons ago on this ground. Unfortunately we were let down by some bad bowling, inexperience, and opposition batsmen who were prepared to punish us for it. With no matches for the next 3 Saturdays, let's see if the rest recharges our batteries. UTS!!

Seamer & Irton Cricket Club Seamer & Irton CC 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 6w 1b 8lb 
for 6 wickets

(45.0 overs)
Darrol Lewis ct Blacklock b O Magson 70 111 10 2
Joshua Broadhead ct Thackeray b B Magson 4 8 1 1
Phil Metcalfe lbw b Kent 43 93 5
Liam Love b Kent 0
Dave Graham st J Magson b Underwood 38 46 4 1
Dave Allen ct J Magson b Rivis 6 17
Luke Horton Not Out  9 24
Dan Jewitt Not Out  6 1 1
Steve Winwood  
Archie Graham  
Matty Walters  

Kirkbymoorside Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
B Magson12.0249149.004.08
A Bayes12.024200.003.50
O Magson5.0124124.004.80
P Kent10.0142221.004.20
J Rivis4.0016116.004.00
J Underwood2.0010110.005.00

Kirkbymoorside Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
7w 1b 5lb 
for 4 wickets
198 (36.2 overs)
M Thompson b Winwood 10 35 2
J Magson b Jewitt 13 39 3
J Underwood ct Broadhead b Walters 20 37 3
A Bayes Not Out  65 109 9 3
P Kent b Winwood 59 54 12
J Rivis Not Out  18 20 4
B Magson  
J Thackeray  
J Blacklock  
O Magson  
A Parsons  

Seamer & Irton Cricket Club Seamer & Irton CC 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Dan Jewitt12.0145145.003.75
Steve Winwood11.2424212.002.12
Archie Graham3.003400.0011.33
Matty Walters2.0017117.008.50
Dave Graham2.001900.009.50
Liam Love4.003800.009.50
Joshua Broadhead2.001500.007.50